• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Creative Cloud workflow under the Photography Plan?

Community Beginner ,
Jul 17, 2017 Jul 17, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I apologize in advance for the length of this post. I thought if I explained what I was trying to do in a little more detail, it might make it easier to help me out of the weeds.

I'm an amateur that had been using Google Picasa (now Google Photo) for years, and I've built up about 120 GB of photos in my Google Drive account. Recently, my son finally convinced me to try using the Adobe products to edit my photos, so I signed up for the "Photography Plan," which I really like so far. However, I'm not sure how all of the Creative Cloud pieces are designed to work together. With only 2 GB of cloud storage (or even the 20 GB that comes with the "All Apps" plan) there is nowhere near enough room to store all my photos, so I can only guess that Adobe intends for the cloud storage to be used for something else, but what? What is the intended workflow for a guy like me?

For example, I just got back from a European vacation. I took a several hundred photos, which Google Photos automatically backed up to the cloud for me. I've got Google Drive loaded on my MacBook Pro at home, and it sync'd my photos down to a "Google Photos" folder on my local hard disk that is organized by year, then within each year, by month. (I don't have to do anything special. This is just what Google Photos does.) I had already added the "2017" folder to Google Lightroom, so all I had to do to have my vacation photos show up Lightroom was re-synchronize the folder. After rating the photos and editing the best of them, I created a Smart Collection of the ones I wanted to share with my kids, and this is where I got stumped.