• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Using paint tool on transparent layer/rotoscoping

Community Beginner ,
Jul 25, 2017 Jul 25, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I want to create a transparent layer so I can add painted effects and images over existing footage - but then remove the original footage and render.  I'm a Photoshop and Illustrator expert but new at After Effects. It seems like a simple thing but not found the answers. Rotoscope tool is too rigid. A simple layer akin to a new layer in Photoshop would be ideal. I want to paint and add new elements so I need the footage for reference - but then need to hide it and render with a transparent background. Thanks very much

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The right technique depends on the footage. Here's a simple rotoscope short tutorial that may point you in the right direction.

You may need to learn about tracking, how to use Mocha, how to create a procedural matte, use Rotobrush... it all depends on the footage. Without seeing the footage or at least a screenshot of a frame from the footage it is pretty hard to point you to the right tools and workflow.

The UI and the tools in AE are a lot more complex than Photoshop. If you are new I'd start here Basic AE and learn some of the basics first. I've only seen a couple of people in my 20+ years using AE that successfully jumped in to AE without training and accomplished anything.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Beginner ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied