• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Should I move my LRCAT file to my SSD for better performance ?

Explorer ,
Aug 13, 2017 Aug 13, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I should say i'm new to LL, only been a customer for a month, but pretty tech savvy. Anyway moving on...

My cache folder and LL is installed on my SSD, but my entire picture library is all on a 7200rpm mechanical drive. And being that my Pictures Folder is on the Mechanical drive, by default LL put the LRCAT file in the pictures\lightroom folder.

Can't help but notice that my LL feels laggy at times, and i have an excellent spec machine. Win10 64bit i7700k/16GB ram  and a 1080ti GPU, which in itself has 11gb

Wondering if its because the lrcat file is on the mechanical drive as appose to being on my SSD, (windows and applications drive) or just a trait of LL.

Should i move it to my C: (SSD Drive) ?  i have enough room.. Not to move the entire pictures folder, but for the LRCAT files.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Are you referring to an external drive - your '7200 rpm mechanical drive'? Lightroom is generally faster when it is running on an internal drive because you are not waiting for the computations to be written to the external drive.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

No i meant one of my internal mechanical drives.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied