• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Premiere Pro (CC) has encountered an error. (Mac)

Advisor ,
Jul 07, 2013 Jul 07, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Darn, this is bad.  I'm having flashbacks to Pr CS6.0.0.  I keep getting this error, which leads to a crash:

Premiere Pro has encountered an error.

[/siree64/releases/2013.02/PremierePro/

Messanine/Make/Mac/../../Src/Utilities.cpp-780]

Pr CC has been working pretty well on older CS6 projects and new projects started in CC. 

For the record, I'm a professional Premiere Pro power user; not a novice.

This recurring problem happens when I just click on audio or video certain clips in a timeline.  I exported this project from FCP7 via XML and into Pr CC.  All the sync clips are double system; video from a Canon transcoded to ProRes; audio files are .WAV from a Zoom recorder.

{Sidebar:  I have an ongoing project in CC I started in CS6 with Canon H264 video, and Zoom audio.  I'm not having the same problems.}

I exported this problem project to XML from Pr CC, opened it in Pr CS6, and I don't get the crashes when clicking on clips. 

This is a new issue with PrCC, and apparently projects imported via XML.

I did all the usual maintanence: Trashed prefs, previews and Media Cache.  Ran Disk Warrior.  Problem persists.

Workaround is, once I locate a clip that causes the crash, use In and Out around the clip to lift it, then replace manually.  Slow going.  LOTS of crashing.  Every few minutes.  Once the media is replaced, the crashing stops.  So, this rules out corrupt media.  Besides, I ran Digital Rebellion's Corrupt Clip Finder, and all media on this project passes as not corrupted.  I save about every minute now, so as not to lose too much work.

Silver lining: Pr CC launches about ten times faster than Pr CS6, so getting back to work after a crash is faster.