• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Shape jumps across composition when path pasted after effects

New Here ,
Sep 05, 2017 Sep 05, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello, so I am having a major problem and I have been searching forums for the past day and a half trying to find an answer and haven't found any so I've resulted in making my own in hopes of finding the answer!

I am trying to have a shape move along a tilted oval path. For now, I have simplified the design into simple shapes: (The oval in this picture is just to show you the shape of the path)

Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 11.13.30 AM.png

Now when I paste the path that I created with the pen tool onto the position layer of the arrow shape, the arrow always jumps to the other side of the composition:

Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 11.14.35 AM.png

How can I make sure the shape stays in the same spot when the path is pasted on the layer?

I am a beginner in After Effects so I may be missing something really obvious

Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 11.18.52 AM.png

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 05, 2017 Sep 05, 2017

Rules for turning a vector path (mask or shape layer path) into a motion path.

1. The layer containing the path must be at 100% scale, at the default comp center position, and the rotation has to be zero - In other words, everything has to be reset
  2. When selecting the path you want to copy, if you want the entire path to be copied you have to make sure that the entire path property is selected and not just a few of the points on the path. The easiest way to do this is to simply set a keyframe then eit

Votes

Translate

Translate
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied