• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Import AI or EPS based on Groups, not every element in each group

Community Beginner ,
Sep 08, 2017 Sep 08, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello all. I have an EPS file and I'm trying to animate the elements in the file.

The problem is that this file is about 200 vectors of people (shown in AI as an individual group for each person), but within each group (person) there are about a dozen layers (left leg, right leg, head, hair, left shoe, right shoe, etc.).

I want to import this file and have the PEOPLE as shape layers, but when I "Convert to shape layer" it seperates ALL individual 1642 shapes within the file.

How do I import this where is just has the 200 GROUPS (individual people) as shape layers instead of all 1642 shapes as individual shape layers (left shoe, right shoe, head, etc. of person 143)?

I have done quite a bit of searching and because I have very little knowledge of AI (I'm a photoshop / AE guy) I don't know how to search for what I need.

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 08, 2017 Sep 08, 2017

When you release to layers you have to drag those layers above the original layer. Maybe this will help. It's on morphing with AI but it shows you how to release to layers and create an AI file that will import as a comp:

You may have to do some grouping. It's a bit tedious on files with a lot of layers. For your particular file you might be able to use the direct selection tool (keyboard shortcut in AI - a) and drag a selection around a whole person, then note the selected paths in the layer pan

Votes

Translate

Translate
Guide ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied