• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop CS Hard Brush Is Grainy and Pixelated

New Here ,
Sep 10, 2017 Sep 10, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I've been using photoshop for over 8 years and for some reason I can't seem to figure this out. I use photoshop and a wacom intuos pro tablet to make illustrations. The tablet is relatively new and has a problem where I have to reinstall the driver every other month, and I recently adopted a cat who likes to walk across my keyboard and step on all my keys. (Maybe she pressed something she shouldn't have?)

Essentially, my brush strokes using the hard brush in photoshop is giving me a gross, grainy look like this:

I've been trying to figure this out for hours and apparently no one else online seems to have this problem? I'm working with a 6000x2800px screen at 300dpi. It used to be 3000x1400px (which is the range I typically work in and it's been just fine), but I decided to increase the size of my canvas to see if maybe my brush would look better using larger settings.

But no, the edges of my strokes still look disgusting.

I sometimes do pixel art in photoshop as well, and I checked to make sure all of my settings where on "Bicubic" and not "Nearest Neighbor." What have I missed?

I would really appreciate it if someone could help me... I've never had this problem before, not even working in 72dpi with a 100x100px canvas...

(Ps. The majority of my brush settings are either at zero, or set to "pen pressure")

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 10, 2017 Sep 10, 2017

Hi!

I can understand your frustration. I played around with my brush and settings, and was wondering if what I'm posting below looks more like what you are expecting?

Screen Shot 2017-09-10 at 7.37.40 PM.png