Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Nested loop not working

Contributor ,
Sep 20, 2017 Sep 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi
I'm new to Animate and createJS, and I'm trying to learn the syntax, but I'm stuck with this code, where my loop wont loop, meaning that the outer loop stops after the first iteration.

var letters = ["M_container", "O1_container", "T_container", "I_container", "O2_container", "N_container"]

// Pause events

root.pauseBtn.addEventListener("click", pauseAll.bind(this));

function pauseAll() {   

var j;

var i;

var containermc;

for (j = 0; j < letters.length; j++) {

containermc = letters;

for (i = root[containermc].numChildren - 1; i >= 0; i--) {

var mc = root[containermc].getChildAt(i);   

mc.stop();

}

}

}

So all instances running in the first containermc "M_container" stops as intended, but then nothing else happens.

Also, I'm getting a console error from line 12 ( mc.stop();) , saying that it's not a function even though it works.

I hope someone can help me

P.s. Where can I find some guides for rewriting actionscript syntax to javascript/createJS?
createjs.com is fine for learning some things, but I'm an unexperienced coder, so I need some really basic stuff - maybe I should learn Javascript from the bottom?
Is native Javascript working in Animate? Sorry if it's a dumb question

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Sep 22, 2017 Sep 22, 2017

you have a shape (the bg) on T that's not elsewhere.

use the timeline property to remedy:

if(mc.timeline){

mc.stop();

}

Votes

Translate

Translate
Community Expert ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

where's root defined?

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines