Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script for Linking Images with Url's from a Spreadsheet

New Here ,
Sep 11, 2017 Sep 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to using scripts in InDesign, but I need to write one specifically for a catalog I'm working on. I have successfully imported all of the product information and images from a .csv file using data merge. Each page has 6 products, and each product takes up one row with four columns. I am needing to make a digital version of this catalog that allows the customer to click on the image of any product and have it lead them to that product on the company website.

I have all of the product urls in a .csv spreadsheet that are sorted accordingly to each product, but I am at a loss on how to write a script that will pull these urls from the spreadsheet and link them to the product images in the document.

I am using InDesign CC 2017, and Microsoft Excel for Mac Version 15.33

If anyone is able to help or even remotely point me in the right direction on what to do it would be greatly appreciated!!

All the best,

Megan

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Guru ,
Sep 11, 2017 Sep 11, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I think the Auto hyperlink script (by Nobrainer Scripting) may come in handy to you. You can save the csv-file as txt leaving only product names and URLs separated by tabs.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
New Here ,
Sep 20, 2017 Sep 20, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi Kasyan,