Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Dear Adobe, Who does your editing?

New Here ,
Sep 12, 2017 Sep 12, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Dear Adobe and contributors,

I am a successful photographer with more than 20 years of assignment experience. I was a staff photographer for the Houston Post and the Denver Post along with a few smaller newspapers. Additionally, as a freelance photographer, I have photographed in 160 countries and had more than 300 magazine and annual report covers.

After years of successful stock sales through two now-defunct stock agencies, I turned to Adobe with hopes that your model of stock photography distribution would become standard.

I started by submitting just a few images and the first thing I realized was that either Adobe utilizes unqualified editors, or perhaps a computer-based editing system. I say this because of the rejection reasons: “Intellectual Property Violation”, “Non Compliant Content”, “Grain/Noise problem,“Exposure Issue” and more.

The “intellectual property violation” pops up frequently — most recently for me, it came this AM when one of my files was declined. The photograph was a 16mm wide shot of the cobblestoned city center in Antwerp, Belgium. Riding the tailwind of that rejection came another — “Exposure Issue” used to describe a perfectly exposed and quite lovely shot of detail in Antwerp.

The “Exposure Issue” seems to be a recurring rejection theme for me. If I submit a beautiful, dramatic and creative frame, it seems that it will likely be rejected because of an exposure issue. One photograph in particular that received such rejection has sold dozens of prints while on display in my gallery.

I end my venting with this — A recently rejected photograph that was labeled as having a “Focus Issue” was used in a national advertising campaign. It did not have a focus issue by the way.