• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Wrong fonts displays

Participant ,
Nov 21, 2008 Nov 21, 2008

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I spend a lot of time fighting with style sheets that slip in when I import a HTM file, but when I see my compiled HTML Help file on another PC, it does not have the particular font we use for communications. Instead all text is Times Roman. We use Myriad Web Pro, which is in the RH typestyle menu.

What gives? How can I easily ensure end users see the font I choose? I am not a programmer, how do I embed the font in the RH project?

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Fonts can't be embedded in a help system like they can in, say, a Flash file.

HTML can use only what's on the user's computer, so the only way really would be to distribute Myriad Web Pro for your users to install on their computers, which I'm sure isn't a viable option. That is, unless the developers can run a process that will install it for them when they're installing the software (or run the help the first time if your help isn't distributed with an app). But if this font has to be purchased, that could be an obstacle to distributing it.

That's a bunch of ifs. The best approach probably is to use the closest standard font you can find.

Probably not what you were hoping for, but I hope it helps anyway.

--Ben

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hi there