• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Photoshop keeps saving my jepgs as psd files.

Explorer ,
Oct 12, 2017 Oct 12, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Every time I open a jpeg file and do some editing it then saves it as a psd. eventhough there are no layers. I have been using Photoshop for many years so I am familiar with saving files. This has just started a couple of days ago. I use a Mac book pro Sierra. Not sure way this happening or how to fix it. I've tried "Save AS" and it wont give me the option to save as a jpeg.

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines

correct answers 1 Correct answer

Community Expert , Oct 12, 2017 Oct 12, 2017

I already see the problem: Layer 0 (look at the document tab at the top)

Layer 0 means it is a floating layer and can't be saved as a jpeg, only in file formats that support floating layers. PSD, PSB, Tiff and so forth.

The answer is to flatten the image.  Layer menu > Flatten Image   Layer 0 will now be labeled Background and can then be saved as a Jpeg.

Gene

Votes

Translate

Translate
Adobe
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

If you don't see the jpg option then odds are you are in the wrong mode. It must be 8-bit and RGB, CMYK, or greyscale.

In later versions it is suppose to change the bit mode for you. But I don't think it will automatically change the color space.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Explorer ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

The mode is correct so I don't think that is the problem.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
community guidelines