• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Cross-document Swatch Color Update Troubles (C++)

Community Beginner ,
Oct 14, 2017 Oct 14, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Hello there,

I am using Visual Studio 2015 with Adobe Illustrator CC 2017 with the latest version Adobe Illustrator SDK.

As I am completely new to working with the Adobe SDK I've spent some time over the past weeks becoming more familiar with the documentation, and have learned through gradually building the parts of this solution which I am able. What I have come up with is a single menu item under 'window' which toggles the collection of swatch data from the active document. With this data collected, opening a subsequent document results in a notifier that triggers the update code, so the destination's swatch colors are to be updated. So far so good.

My task is to develop a plug in which is able to read the color swatches from a source Illustrator document and apply them to a large number of destination Illustrator documents one at a time. For the moment, I am focusing on updating just one swatch in one document. All swatches in these documents share a naming convention, so at first glance it seems a matter of copying the color from the source swatch to the destination.