• 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Script to Image Trace Photoshop file

LEGEND ,
Oct 27, 2017 Oct 27, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I don't know where to start with this. I'm not a scripting expert and there seem to be so many options. I'd like to Image Trace a JPG file and save a vector PDF in the same folder.

Our current workflow is to:

1. Enhance file in Photoshop
  2. Save as JPG
  3. Open JPG in AI
  4. Image Trace using AI preset
  5. Save as PDF in same folder as JPG

This is not a "batch" process since our workflow requires us to complete each conversion before moving to the next.

I would LOVE to see this accomplished without leaving Photoshop, but I don't know how to accomplish this. I even tried using the "convert to paths" option within PS, but don't have enough control over conversion.

Using:

Mac OS X 10.11.6

AI CC 2015.3

PS CC 2015.5

Any suggestions appreciated.

TOPICS
Scripting

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
Adobe
Valorous Hero ,
Oct 30, 2017 Oct 30, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

It could be possible with a cross-application script, but it's a little complex. Maybe I can make a test in a course of a couple of weeks.

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

Thanks for responding, Silly-V.

Another thought is to create a "drag-n-drop" script for Illustrator that would save a vector PDF of a JPG that is dropped onto the script.

I don't know if this is any simpler.