Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Color Grading Questions

Engaged ,
Nov 10, 2017 Nov 10, 2017

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

I am completely new to color grading.

1. When dragging a Lumetri preset on to a clip, should it be dragged to an adjustment layer? Does it make a difference since you can delete the preset if you do not like it?

2. Is there a way to temporarily hide the effect so you can see before and after?

3. When wanting to color grade footage, which tool should I look into; three-way color corrector vs. lumetri color vs. fast color corrector?

Thanks!

Views

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more
community guidelines
LEGEND ,

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

https://forums.adobe.com/people/media+kat  wrote

1. When dragging a Lumetri preset on to a clip, should it be dragged to an adjustment layer? Does it make a difference since you can delete the preset if you do not like it?

Either. An Adjustment layer is generally used if you want to apply the color correction to multiple clips at the same time, as opposed to applying the color correction individually to each.

2. Is there a way to temporarily hide the effect so you can see before and after?

You can either use the Global Effects Mute Button:

Screen Shot 2017-11-10 at 11.11.58 AM.png

or you can turn the effect on or off in the Effect Controls Panel by clicking on the FX button:

Screen Shot 2017-11-10 at 11.12.14 AM.png

3. When wanting to color grade footage, which tool should I look into; three-way color corrector vs. lumetri color vs. fast color corrector?

I would vote for Lumetri, especially if you are just starting out in color correction.

My two cents.

MtD

Votes

Translate

Translate

Community guidelines
Be kind and respectful, give credit to the original source of content, and search for duplicates before posting. Learn more