7 Replies Latest reply on May 10, 2012 8:44 AM by jv_fourcreative

Progressive download problem...

jv_fourcreative

I know basic flash OK...not an actionscripter, I'm a graphic designer with a decent grasp on Flash. I upgraded earlier in the year to CS5.5 and now I'm having an issue with my video...progressive download no longer works. No matter what the bufferTime is set to and no matter what the length of the video being loaded, the Flash Player waits until the video is 100% loaded before it plays. What is causing this? It happens in more than one kind of browser and Firefox handles it REALLY poorly.

Here's a link where you can view the problem:

http://www.mustangcreekestates.com/kellertest.html

Click on the button at the bottom that says "VIRTUAL VIDEO TOUR OF OUR RESIDENCES" and you'll see the problem. Click on either of the other video buttons at the bottom and you'll see videos that were created before I upgraded and they play/load in the intended way...no problems.

If you have a poor connection, it may just sit and load and time out...not playing the video at all. Help!

John

• 1. Re: Progressive download problem...
          adninjastrator Level 4

Videos all play just fine for me on PC, IE8 and FF.

If you recenty switched the video format to mp4, then you may have a MOOV ATOM problem..... it's been around a long time.

QTSwapper and more info here:

http://renaun.com/blog/2007/08/qtindexswapper-air-application-for-flash-player-h264-files/

You can also use QuickTimePro to open and then resave the offending file.

Best wishes,

Adninjastrator

• 2. Re: Progressive download problem...
            jv_fourcreative Level 1

That's not the problem, however. These are FLV files compressed with the On2 VP6 Codec using the Adobe Media Encoder. And the source file was an uncompressed AVI. Any thoughts? Thanks!

• 3. Re: Progressive download problem...
              adninjastrator Level 4