7 Replies Latest reply on May 11, 2012 10:41 AM by FlashKatt

speed up on/off visibility?

FlashKatt Level 1

I have a simple animation involving flames and I'd like this flame to be visible for a frame, invisible for a frame...or 2 frames or whatever looks good. As a newbie, I'm doing each frame at a time..select item, key frame, change alpha to zero or 100% depending on which frame that is.

Is there a smarter faster way to tell an object to be alternately visible/invisible on a cycle of ever N-frames?

thank you,

cat

• 1. Re: speed up on/off visibility?
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You will probably fair better if you don't use frames and use code instead.  Since you mention 100% alpha it isn't clear if you are using AS2 or AS3, but in either case there are timing elements available that you can use to change the alpha/visible property on a regular basis that you can control more flexibly than using frames.

As an alternative to a coded approach, you could create the on/off switching as a small movieclip (2 frames, 4frames, etc, to control the timing) and use that instead of trying to arrange it along an entire timeline.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: speed up on/off visibility?
            FlashKatt Level 1

Ah..code...action script.

while I know of action script, I don't know how to make it work for me but I thank you...I had a feeling code would be involved in what I'm after..the movieclip idea sounds like a clever Plan B.

kat

• 3. Re: speed up on/off visibility?
              FlashKatt Level 1

Ned;

As Action Script goes, is my goal to easily handle that flame animation on the easier side of the spectrum? Can you suggest any tutorials that are best for a complete Action Script greenhorn to get productive?

thank you,

kat

• 4. Re: speed up on/off visibility?

I can offer some information if you can indicate which version of Actionscript your file is being published for... check your Flash Publish Settings.