14 Replies Latest reply on May 14, 2012 12:32 PM by sinious

TV commercial using flash

bhandariplater

Hi,

I am preparing a TV commercial using flash animation. I am animating a static image with a zoom in effect. the specs I am asked to resize this animation to is 1366 x 768. I am a print designer and having difficulties understanding how to resize my image in photoshop to achieve best quality.. so my understanding would be if my image is 1366 x 768 what would be the dpi?? and what would be the specs in inches to be aired at 46" screens or even larger..

Thank you.

Linda

• 1. Re: TV commercial using flash
          Jose_Flash_ookken Level 2

Please read this document, you will get to know what is DPI and PPI

Both are almost similar but it’s using in different mediums.

One is in paper and another in screen.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dots_per_inch

• 2. Re: TV commercial using flash
            bhandariplater Level 1

Thank you Josh. I read it, it's interesting. yet I am sure there are some tricks and details to saving an image for flash without really having a massive file size.

so if my image (Jpeg) is same size as the stage, and my dpi/ppi is 300. I understand that the physical dimensions of the image as 80"x40" per say doesn't matter. so if I ignore the physical dimensions, the file size will be huge.. and when I import it flash and convert it  to a movie clip for the animation, the animation gets a bit slow/funny... what do you think is the problem??

Many thanx Josh.

L

• 3. Re: TV commercial using flash
              sinious Most Valuable Participant

So you're targeting 1280x720p content as that is a 16:9 ratio you're being asked to conform to.

What is your flash animations current dimension?