4 Replies Latest reply on May 16, 2012 10:23 AM by Harm Millaard

Ivy bridge only quad core?

db2012_02

I may be quite possibly switching over from mac to pc this summer and am looking to build a workstation. I'm fairly new to customizing and building and am trying to understand all these differences between xeons, i7's, sandy bridge, sandy bridge-e, ivy bridge, etc.

For a while I was sold on the idea of a dual lower ghz xeon-e5 workstation for my 3d/compositing work, but I still see a lot of people pushing the idea of an overclocked i7 as being an worthy competitor for a lot of the type of work I do.

Anyhow, I've been led to believe that for my applications, which can usually use a lot of multicore multithreaded operations, that more cores are better. I've been looking at an 8-core cpu or possibly dual hex. I've been told to wait for ivy bridge, especially for graphics work and performance, but I notice statements that ivy bridge cpu's have a maximum of 4 cores? How does this leave them stacking up against previous sandy bridge/e 6 and 8 core cpu's?

I'm a little confused about this, why intels next gen microarchitecture would have less cores? Can somebody help clarify this for me? 

• 1. Re: Ivy bridge only quad core?
          RjL190365 Level 4

To answer that question, yes, Ivy Bridge is limited to quad-core at present. That is more due to the limitation of the LGA 1155 socket that all current Ivy Bridge CPUs use. Hence, it is the limitation (currently) of the LGA 1155 platform, not Ivy Bridge. A hexa- or octo-core Ivy Bridge requires a much more expensive and higher-end socket such as LGA 2011. Unfortunately at present, all of the current LGA 2011 CPUs (including the Xeon E5 series) still use the older 32nm CPU manufacturing process (Ivy Bridge uses the 22nm process).