8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2012 5:09 AM by GFP1963

Gradient Strokes

Is there another way to produce gradient strokes on an object in FW other then:

• layering 2 rectangles on top of each other
      • making one smaller to create the appearance of a stroke
      • applying the gradient (or any other effect) to the bottom object?

I am not too good with Photoshop (I find it very frustrating but I think I better get on board) and opened a .psd file in FW. The border of the graphic was identified as 'layer1'. When the object is selected you can resize it but cannot apply a stroke. There is a 'Photoshop Live Effects' filter active with the 'Gradient Overlay' option selected. I could not adjust the color of the 'border' so had to reproduce it in FW using the above steps.

This is a .jpg export of the what was in the .psd file:

and this is what I created in FW using the steps above:

Just seems like there would be an easier way.

• 1. Re: Gradient Strokes
          groove25 Level 4

Not sure about the best Photoshop-to-Fireworks workflow, but here are a couple ideas:

• To avoid having to draw the same shape twice, you can Clone the original object and then Transform (Command-T), holding the Shift key to maintain proportion and the Option key to transform from center.
          • You can convert your two rectangles to a single composite path using Command-J (Modify > Combine Paths > Join). This may change the way the gradient renders within the shape, though. And it doesn't make the "stroked object" any easier to create. You could also just group the two rectangles to make them easier to move, etc.