19 Replies Latest reply on May 21, 2012 2:43 PM by Rallymax-forum

CS6, format for intermediates

cfg_2451 Level 2

I've got some footage that needs noise reduction. Since I've already got AE, I'm going to use AE's "remove grain" effect to do the job. Unless there's a better way in the Production Premium CS6 suite?

I've already found that doing this from PPro by using a "replace with AE comp" dynamic link has a huge negative impact on the performace of exporting from PPro. Same as it does in CS5. And I want to avoid this on this new project.

It seems the accepted way to deal with this is to render an intermediate file from AE, and replace the source file in the PPro project with this new de-noised file. I'm OK doing this, although I've never done it before.

How is this normally done from AE? What's a PPro-friendly file format for the intermediate?

I'm doing this from a win7 machine, and my capture CODEC is AVCHD. To make matters worse, this is a multi-cam project in PPro. Only one camera needs the de-noise treatment. Will I have to render both cameras' source files into the same intermediate format, or can I mix and match source file format (AVCHD and XYZ) in a PPro sequence?

I'm sure I'm not the first noobie to face this. Surely there's a tutorial out there somewhere? But I'm not finding the right search terms to uncover it. Somebody point me in the right direction?

• 1. Re: CS6, format for intermediates
          Rallymax-forum Level 3

there are many digital intermediates to choose from.

Two free popular ones are DNxHD (Windows and Mac) and Apple ProRes (encoding is Mac only)

A video-only free lossless codec is UTlossless. It has reasonable compression and is visually lossless.

RAW YUV is done using Microsoft AVI Lossless but is HUGE so I would recommend you stay away from that.

You do not need to render everything to an intermediate. PPro can happily work with dozens of different formats at the same time.