4 Replies Latest reply on May 22, 2012 8:07 AM by klcodanr85

Create a New Website

Jayatl Level 1

Hello,

I am new to CQ (obviously) and I'm have a really difficult time understanding how to create a new website that has nothing to do with the Geometrixx installed site.  There is shockingly zero documentation online on how to create a new site (the create a website from scratch article builds the site under Geometrixx).

So, can someone point me to a link online that can accomplish this or provide step-by-step directoions here?

What I've tried so far:

Tools > MSM Control Center > New Page (Blueprint) - won't work because the path doesn't exist. 

Websites > New Site > select the Blueprint above - fails because path not set.

Not clear how a tool with teh sole purpose of creating new content makes such a fundamental task so difficult.

• 1. Re: Create a New Website
          Amitdstar

Hi jayati,

Please refer below documents:-

http://dev.day.com/docs/en/cq/current/howto/website.html

• 2. Re: Create a New Website
            orotas Level 4

I think what's missing is the question of how to create the top level node of a site - so for example how do you create /content/mysite. What you want to do is:

1. Go to CRXDE Lite
            2. Create a node as a child of /content named mysite with a primary type of cq:Page and save.
            3. Copy the jcr:content node from /content/geometrixx.
            4. Edit the cq:allowedTemplates field to point to your sites templates (or leave it pointed to the geomettrix templates to create a site with those templates - also as some pointed out http://dev.day.com/docs/en/cq/current/howto/website.html walks you through creating templates/components.
            5. Edit cq:designPath to point to your design page (see the how to instructions above for creating a design page)
            6. Edit jcr:title to give it a unique name
            7. Edit sling:vanityPath to be unique
            8. Save