8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 25, 2008 2:16 PM by FlashTastic

Audio Scripting Question

witt2008
      I am working in Action Script 2 on a Project that can be found here... Panning Image I posted my question in the Action Script 3 forum by accident. Basically what I am trying to do is have multiple hotspots where you can click and hear audio clips. I have no problem creating these invisible hotspots as I have done one already if you click on the notebook. My problem however, is with the audio overlap if you click the hotspot more than once, or click another hotspot. I am relatively new to flash, and in the other forum someone suggested that I do the following:

quote:

Originally posted by: Gaunt Face
      My approach to fix it would be this :

Just create a boolean variable that indicates whether a noise is playing. Then before your actionscript plays a noise, make it check the boolean value, if its true you need to stop any other noise and then play the new noise, if it is false then just let it play the noise.

But you must make sure you add action listeners for when the noise is finished to set the boolean to false and ensure that just before a noise is played the boolean is set true.

Hope that helps a bit

Gaunt

Does anyone have any suggestions as to exactly how this would be coded? I am relatively new to coding in Flash Actionscript 2.0 and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
      Thanks
      Ryan
        • 1. Re: Audio Scripting Question
          robdillon Most Valuable Participant
          To play a sound, you might have something like this:
          var my_sound:Sound = new Sound();
          my_sound.attachSound("soundName");
          my_sound.start();

To safeguard that the sound plays only once, you might do something like this:

var sound1Playing:Boolean = false;

soundButton.onRelease = function() {
          my_sound.attachSound("logoff_id");
          my_sound.onSoundComplete = callback1;
          my_sound.start();