9 Replies Latest reply on May 20, 2012 6:40 PM by the_wine_snob

video formats for simple music clips

sound space

Hi, I’m a newbie to video so some advice would be welcome. I have a music project where I am putting images to a series of 3 minute songs. I'm comfortable with audio formats but I’m wondering about the best video/image format to use in Premiere Elements 10 for a project where the output required is playback through a Mac Powerbook to a projector, showing mainly still images (with duration of anything from 5 secs to 3 mins) and the occasional short moving image. I’m imagining it is best to output  it as a good quality quicktime movie.

Any advice is welcome.

• 1. Re: video formats for simple music clips
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

It depends on whether your video is hi-def or standard definition video.

But I'd very much recommend just outputting a DVD or BluRay disc. These are good, universal formats and Macs play them back with beautiful quality!

• 2. Re: video formats for simple music clips
            sound space Level 1

Hi Steve, thanks for your reply. Most of the images will be be stills for this project. There are about 30 songs and only 2 or 3 images will be used with each song. (That said apparently there will be some video footage for some of the songs.) I am thinking that i should probably go wth the DSLR preset for the project.

Is outputting it to a DVD likely to be as reliable as a quicktime movie format? In my meagre experience unless you get a professional DVD player the domestic DVDs are all pretty unreliable (and display menus on the screen), while at least a quicktime (or PC equivalent) format is a little less likely to crash mid performance. (The show will have 2 x 50 minute halves).