4 Replies Latest reply on May 26, 2012 12:07 PM by Niebieski_Mak

Help. Very stupid problem with word files placement.

Niebieski_Mak

As u can see i'm total newbie to Indesign. I dont know how but I cannot place text imported from Word in my project. Weird thing that if I create new document it works. However in that project i already made many styles and stuff so I dont want to start from scratch so the question is:

Is there some option "I Accidentally the whole project" and is there anyway to repair it. [Or maybe export styles and master pages to another document?]

The problem with word text placement says that text is too big (the red cross).

Indesign CS6 30 day trial.

Message was edited by: Niebieski_Mak

• 1. Re: Help. Very stupid problem with word files placement.
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

The red plus sign means "overset text" which is just a fancy way of sayin there is more than will fit in the frame. There are a lot of potential reasons for this, but to tell you waht is going on in the current document we need to know a few more details.

Do you expect the Word doc to fill more than one frame? Is the frame into which you've tried to place text now full?

You can import styles from one document to another by going to the file where you want to import them, the go to either the Character Styles or Paragraph Styles panel and from the panel flyout menu choose either load the style type that matches the panel or Load ALL Text styles to do both at once. Pick the file in the open dialog that will pop up that has the styles you want to use. That said, the problem may actually be style related, so it would be better to figure out what you did than to recreate the same situation.

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Help. Very stupid problem with word files placement.
            Niebieski_Mak Level 1