6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2007 6:55 AM by Newsgroup_User

How do I allow user to download file?

tsimshatsui Level 1
      Hi there,

I would like to allow the user to download a 10 meg jpeg image by clicking on a thumbnail. Ideally clicking on the thumbnail would open a dialogue box that asks the user where to save the file. What I don't want is for the user to click on the thumbnail and then for the browser to load the entire 10 meg image and then have the user save it. Is there some clever way to allow the user to click on the small thumbnail and then just download the large jpeg file to their harddrive??

I am very new to Dreamweaver so sorry if this is a silly post. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
      Ali
        • 1. Re: How do I allow user to download file?
          Ethereal_Mike Level 1
          Zip the file, this way the user will get option to save the file to their hard drive.
          • 2. Re: How do I allow user to download file?
            Level 7
            tsimshatsui wrote:
            > Hi there,
            >
            > I would like to allow the user to download a 10 meg jpeg image by clicking on
            > a thumbnail. Ideally clicking on the thumbnail would open a dialogue box that
            > asks the user where to save the file. What I don't want is for the user to
            > click on the thumbnail and then for the browser to load the entire 10 meg image
            > and then have the user save it. Is there some clever way to allow the user to
            > click on the small thumbnail and then just download the large jpeg file to
            > their harddrive??
            >
            > I am very new to Dreamweaver so sorry if this is a silly post. Any help would
            > be greatly appreciated.

zip the 10mb file and upload it to the server. Create a thumbnail link
            to the zipped file on the server. When the end user clicks the thumb it