5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2012 5:27 AM by Russ Ward

Passing an FDK object to ES

Russ Ward Level 4

Hi,

As an FDK developer, I'm finding more and more reasons for interaction between API clients and ES scripts. For the most part, everything works very well, but I've run across an issue with CallClient() that I'm not able to figure out.

In summary, I want to somehow return a document object from a client to ES. It is simple to return an FDK object handle (F_ObjHandleT) to other FDK clients (and to ES), but I can't see any way to convert an FDK object handle to an ES document object. For example, in my F_ApiNotify() FDK code, I can put something like this:

F_ObjHandleT docId;

docId = F_ApiGetId(0, FV_SessionId, FP_ActiveDoc);

return (IntT)docId;

...and CallClient will get back the document ID. This is simple to work with if I made the call from another FDK client, but I don't know what to do with the ID within ES.

For objects within documents, you can get around this by returning a unique ID (FP_Unique) of the object instead, which ES can readily convert back to an object with GetUniqueObject(). However, there is apparently no such property or method at the document level.

Interestingly, it seems that you can go the other direction; that is, from an ES object to an object handle, using the 'id' property, as in:

var oDoc = app.ActiveDoc;

alert(oDoc.id);

I don't know how reliable this is, though, as it seems to be undocumented. Anyway, what I want to do is go in reverse, so that a client can return something that uniquely identifies an open document.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,

Russ

• 1. Re: Passing an FDK object to ES
          FrameGurus

Hi Russ,

I understand that there is no straight way to do this. But the good news is- it is possible.