4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2008 5:31 PM by Eric Holsinger

Total Newbie Question(s)

Hello Folks,

In advance, I already want to thank all of you willing to take the time to read this, or even reply :)

Anyway, here's my current situation.
      I've got Eclipse Europa (3.3) with the Flex 3 plugin.
      I've got Tomcat 6 with the LiveCycle Data Services.
      I've got some experience in coding Java classes, contacting Databases (I currently would like to use MySQL) and wiring it all with Spring/Toplink etc...

Anyway, I'm a bit lost when trying to do the following:
      I want to create a webbased database management thingie. Easy mode. One table, 2 fields etc...
      However, I'm completely lost at how to start.

I'm perfectly capable to create my Bean, Dao, DaoImpl and even a service layer above that which gives access to my Dao.
      Other then that I'm, after some nice tutorials, capable in creating my FLEX-Gui to show it all.

What's the problem then?
      Well, I have no idea what I need to do with my Java classes to make sure I can use them in my Flex App...
      How do I need to create the war that needs to be deployed on my Tomcat?
      What is needed in my Service Layer to make it accessible?
      What do I need to add in my Flex project to use that War? I need to point towards a 'war-location' when creating a J2EE based Flex application in Eclipse...

Anyway, I hope the explanation and the questions are clear enough and not too 'noob-like' :)

Any replies appreciated!

Regards,
      Pïeter
        • 1. Re: Total Newbie Question(s)
          riesvantwisk
          Hoi Pieter,

you can use this zip ( http://www.vantwisk.nl/riesvantwisk/resource/blaze-ds.zip) file to kick of your project. It uses Blaze-DS, not LCDS but it sounds like you can get away with Blaze-DS.

I use ant as my build tool and can compile and deploy in GlassFish JBoss and TOmcat. I prevere to use GlassFIsh.