3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2012 6:17 AM by sinious

Translating EXE into Flash

I am brand new to Flash, Programming, and Network Mechanics in general.  I am working with an old version of Flash (Macromedia Flash 8).

My goal is to build a fully functional browser version of the popular MMORPG "Ultima Online" in Flash by the height of this summer (August) for distribution on the Facebook platform.

The server emulator is fully coded freeware (http://www.runuo.com) and I believe the packets are fully documented by a few hobbyists.

Any pointers/tips you can give me would be much appreciated.  I have plenty of time and I am willing to learn whatever programs and systems you name.

• 1. Re: Translating EXE into Flash
          sinious Most Valuable Participant

Upgrade your flash then get back to us.

• 2. Re: Translating EXE into Flash
            ColinLStark Level 1

I am going to have access to a full Adobe Suite in the Fall, I want to do the bulk of the work in text editors and Flash8 before I leave for New York in August.

You may share whatever resources you would have shared if said "I have the most recent version of Flash."

• 3. Re: Translating EXE into Flash
              sinious Most Valuable Participant

Building a game is no small feat, especially the size in which you entail. There are so many technologies available today you can leverage to aid you that you can't use I wouldn't even know where to begin.

Here's a start. Take a look at the Stage3D API and classes. Half way down this page links you to several frameworks (Flare, Alternativa, Starling, etc) that are designed to leverage the brand new GPU powered Stage3D framework. They do a lot of the work for you.