4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 5, 2008 5:49 AM by rlc5611

Missile not working

SAS_Falcon
      ok. I am quite new to actionscript (about 2 weeks to be more precise) and i am trying to make my missile shoot out of my fighter (that works) and then travel in the direction it is facing (if it doesnt explode immediately it also works) and after a certain amount of time it should explode. The problem is that the missile explodes as soon as its created. Ill provide myg WIP to see if it helps (i wouldnt be able to describe very well

Link here

Oh and if it makes any difference im using actionscript 2.0
        • 1. Re: Missile not working
          rlc5611 Level 1
          For one thing if you look inside your missile_1 clip and look on the first frame of the actionscript, you have:

if ((detonation_timer=15))

but should be

if ((detonation_timer==15))

I see you have a similar error in the

if ( (this._name<>"missile_1")and(missile_explosion_on=1) ) {

should be again "==" instead of "="

But I also don't see that your missile ever moves and that is because you don't have the conditional set up in a loop like an onEnterFrame event. You only check once. I think you have other problems as well but your AS is spread out all over the place and it is confusing to follow.
          • 2. Re: Missile not working
            rlc5611 Level 1
            I can also see a potential conflict in your logic and the use of what are essentially global variables. There is nothing to prevent creation of multiple missile clips and they are all using the same variable within the scope of the _root. I think you should make your variables that you are using in your onEnterFrame and onLoad events local to the newly created clips.