6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2012 3:32 PM by Andrew Yoole

Add in bars/tone/slate/black?

tncamp66

Hello!

I am a print designer that now also has to do commercials. I'm learning to use After Effects via the Lynda site and the help files, but I have to produce finished commercials while learning - I skip around a lot in the lessons. I am stumped with one particular issue I hope you can help me with.

I usually have a :15 & a :30 that have to be HD1080i, .mov files at 16:9 (4:3 safe). These have been coming along nicely!

Now I have ONE station that has to have their :15 as 720 X 480, 16:9 (4:3) WITH :10 of bars and tone, :5 - :10 of slate, and at least :2 of black between slate and spot. (I have these elements ready to be inserted.)

I have been building the HD1080i's first, then thought I could adjust settings and save a new comp and insert the needed stuff at the beginning of the spot and everything would move over.

This is not happening and to make deadline I've had to just send the :15 with the settings changed in the comp without the other stuff they need, so now they are charging extra to insert the additional frames.

Is there a tutorial on how to add the frames I need at the beginning of the spot or do I have to build it from scratch?

Thanks!

Tina Campbell

• 1. Re: Add in bars/tone/slate/black?
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

The big question: how do you deliver these spots? 

On tape?  FTP?  Something else? If you deliver files, what media container (e.g. quicktime movie) & codec (e.g. ProRes 422)?

• 2. Re: Add in bars/tone/slate/black?
            tncamp66 Level 1

The spots are all delivered elecronically, either through our FTP, or the station FTP. They are Quicktime movie, H.264.

Thanks!

Tina

• 3. Re: Add in bars/tone/slate/black?
              Dave LaRonde Level 6

This is a chore best handled by an editing application, but in a pinch you can do it in AE.  I wouldn't: how do you know the color bar clip you're using is accurate?