10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2012 5:34 PM by Kyle D. Fisher

After Effects Layers

Kyle D. Fisher

Ok so I am new to After Effects and I am sure this is so simple but I cant figure it out. I am trying out this fake kick back effect with my brother. I have a shot where i kick a light stand. Then a shot of my brother getting flung back. Then a clean plate of neither of us or the light stand. I put them on top of each other in after effects, but i think only one is showing up at a time. I am trying to adjust the opacity of one so I can line up my brother, my foot, and the light stand, but the opacity wont even adjust because it is only showing one of the layers.

• 1. Re: After Effects Layers
          bogiesan Level 4

You need to learn how the application actually functions before you start trying to build things. Adjusting the opacity is a basic function. If it's not working the way you think it should, you're doing something incorrectly but without looking over your shoulder we're only guessing. And, frankly, you don't have the vocabulary for us to start trying to tell you what to try.

Step back, open the help system, look at the sections on layers and opacity. It will only take you a few hours, then you can get to work anad have some serious fun.

• 2. Re: After Effects Layers
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

What bogiesan said - learn the basics. You are not introducing transparency anywhere in your setup, hence there can be no such thing as layering items. Read up on masking, keying, Rotobrush and so on.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: After Effects Layers
              Kyle D. Fisher Level 1