11 Replies Latest reply on Jun 13, 2012 10:34 AM by the_wine_snob

Video becomes smaller after exporting

Jollestudio Level 1

I use the Adobe Premiere Elements 9 that came with my laptop and I'm editing files from my Flip Mino HD camera, and it all works fine except after I've exported the files and play the video the whole picture is much smaller, with huge black borders on the sides. I've tried changing some settings but I just don't know where to look or what to change, I'm very new to this. Is there anything I can do to get rid of this whole black background? It's not just some small borders on the top and on the bottom but large ones on all four sides that really do bother me a lot.

• 1. Re: Video becomes smaller after exporting
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

Let's start at the beginning. At New Project, exactly which Preset did you choose?

There is one specifically for Flip cameras, but I am not sure if it was in PrE 9, or was introduced in PrE 10. Someone will either verify, or correct me. This step is very, very important.

Then, when you go to Share/Export, your settings there will be important too, but will be chosen by the delivery scheme that you require, say DVD-Video, YouTube, etc.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: Video becomes smaller after exporting
            Jollestudio Level 1

At New Project I tried a few different ones but "NTSC-FLIP-Flip Mino HD and Ultra HD 30p" is where it is in the first place. There are four different ones though:

"Flip Mino and Ultra 29_97p"

"Flip Mino and Ultra 30p"

"Flip Mino HD and Ultra HD 29_97p"

"Flip Mino HD and Ultra HD 30p"

The last one being the one marked in the first place.

At Share/Export I click Computer (well I assume that's what it says, it's in my own language). I'm just saving it to my desktop.

Then after clicking "computer" the settings are (but again as it's in a different language I'm not entirely sure how to translate what it says before):

FLV / F4V

640 X 480