4 Replies Latest reply: Jun 7, 2012 9:19 AM by Ben M RSS

Frameset in DW 6

Dankbaar

I know it is not done anymore, but I am a teacher at Dirksen opleidingen and would like to know what the best way is of making a frames site (with of course a frameset) in Dreamweaver CS6. I know that the layout for the frameset no longer is supported  in DW CS6, (because it is a feature that is no longer supported in HTML5) but as my students need to learn HTML I think it eminent they know what a frames site is and how to build it.

It is still possible with insert to embed a frameset, but my problem is, that is within a normal HTML document. And a frameset is a html document in itsself.

Can someone please explain how to insert a frameset and frames in DW CS6 in an easy way??

For people just learning HTML 4?

Thanks in advance

Dineke Dankbaar

• 1. Re: Frameset in DW 6
          MurraySummers ACP/MVPs

I think it eminent they know what a frames site is and how to build it.

I completely disagree.  It is useful for them to understand what a frameset page is and how it works, but it is no longer useful for them to know how to build one.

If you are intent in teaching them how to build a framed site, then it is appropriate for them to use Notepad/TextEdit to do this. However, you can do this in DW as well by creating a new HTML page, and using INSERT | HTML > Frames > { choose desired frame arrangement }.  Doing this will give you n+1 files (where n = the number of frames, and the +1 includes the frameset page).

• 2. Re: Frameset in DW 6
            Dankbaar Community Member

Hi Murray

I completely agree with your statement. But if you want to learn French you start with the grammar. And so it is (in my opinion) for HTML. So learn how it was used and evolve from that to better HTML. I also teach them CSS without frames (which I call framelike and that is done with CSS ) Only thing for me, is I want to teach them a bit of "history" and have problems doing so in CS6.