9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 7, 2012 12:20 PM by jtcdesigns1

Data Merge arrangeBY not working

jtcdesigns1 Level 1

I'm new to scripting in InDesign CS5.5 but I know other languages. I have a script that I wrote with javascript in ExtendScript that automatically does a datamerge and saves out to PDF. My problem is I want to arrange the records by columns.

I've read the documentation in the Object Model Viewer which shows me

DataMergePreference.arrangeBy

and I found a site online that shows me what values can go in it... in my case it would be     columns_first

however I can't get it to work. I keep getting errors left and right with any way I try using arrangeBY

Anything I attempt to try using DataMergePreferences or DataMergePreference  I get Error Number 55  Object does not support the property of the method 'dataMergePreferences' or 'dataMergePreference'

if I try  myDocument.dataMergeProperties.arrangeBy.   I get Object does not support arrangeBy

I can't find any examples anywhere of people wanting to use arrangeBy

if anyone out there has used it I would be greatly appreciative to know how to write that one line to arrange by column which will probably help me figure out many other things. I'll accept links if anyone knows of any that can help.

So far I've had no luck with the inDesign CS5 JS scripting guide or reference.

• 1. Re: Data Merge arrangeBY not working
          Marijan Tompa [tomaxxi] Level 4

Try:

myDocument.dataMergeProperties.dataMergePreferences.arrangeBy = ArrangeBy.ROWS_FIRST;

Hope that helps.

--

Marijan (tomaxxi)

http://tomaxxi.com

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Data Merge arrangeBY not working
            absqua Level 4

It looks like you want:

myDocument.dataMergeProperties.dataMergePreferences.arrangeBy = ArrangeBy.COLUMNS_FIRST;