16 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2012 11:26 PM by d3rpx3

Crossdomain restrictions

d3rpx3

I'm trying to make an app that will call out to two websites that I don't own, using HTTPService (and one of the websites I want to communicate via SSL). I read that Flash has some crossdomain restrictions on this, and that I'd have to have a crossdomain XML policy file on those domains to have my app be able to fetch information from them, but as stated I don't own the domains. I can't use a proxy either, because the site needs the actual user's IP logged and won't work otherwise. Is there a way I could have it connect? Even if it has to display a warning dialog for the user to click Agree on, that's ok.

Sorry if I sound like a retard, I'm fairly new to this and this is probably the second thing I've made and first thing made from scratch.

Regards

• 1. Re: Crossdomain restrictions
          Flex harUI Adobe Employee

What are you trying to get from those websites? I think you can get some things if you sandbox them.

• 2. Re: Crossdomain restrictions
            d3rpx3 Level 1

The websites my application have to access is:

My own, via HTTPS

reCAPTCHA to fetch a challenge string, via HTTPS

A separate website, via HTTP

My own, I can host any type of required policy file. I'd of course need help with what the policy file needs to include, though.

reCAPTCHA, I need to fetch a challenge string, which then is used to fetch the CAPTCHA (https://api.recaptcha.com/image?k=<challenge string> i think) and later I need to submit the answer there to check it.

A separate website, after I check the answer with reCAPTCHA it will give me a token which my application then needs to submit to that website.

All requests are currently through HTTP, I don't know how to communicate through HTTPS yet and need help with that.