4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 10, 2012 7:25 PM by rick_schwein

Toggle font style

rick_schwein Level 1

I'm pretty new to Javascript and InDesign scripting, so following this forum has been very helpful to me.

The newspaper company I work for uses InDesign and InCopy as the production tools for our CMS. We have two problems: 1) users want to be able to use Ctrl-B and Ctrl-I to toggle in and out of bold and italic text, and 2) we need to be able to pass character styles of bold and italic to our Web CMS. 

It looks like we can fix that with a combination of character styles (affecting only the bold or italic font style) and javascripts mapped to keyboard shortcuts.

The basic script follows.  Does anyone see any pitfalls?  Also, is there a way to pass an argument along with the script name through a keyboard shortcut (so the script could be called with the value 'Bold' or 'Italic' instead of having a copy for each style needed?)

Thanks!

// toggle character style

// requires character style name to match script name: Bold, Italic, etc.

// checks applied FONT style, then applies CHARACTER style or clears both char and font styles.

//  written 6/8/12, Rick Schwein, Philadelphia Media Network

var myStyle = 'Bold';

//Make certain that user interaction (display of dialogs, etc.) is turned on.

app.scriptPreferences.userInteractionLevel = UserInteractionLevels.interactWithAll;

if(app.documents.length > 0){

if(app.selection.length > 0){

switch(app.selection[0].constructor.name){

case "InsertionPoint":

case "Character":

case "Word":

case "Line":

case "Paragraph":

case "Text":

case "TextColumn":

case "TextStyleRange":

myToggleStyle(app.selection[0]);

break;

default:

}

}

}     // do nothing if these conditions not met

function myToggleStyle(mySelection){

var myFStyle = app.selection[0];

if (myFStyle.fontStyle != myStyle ){  //check the current font style to see what char style needed

try {

app.selection[0].appliedCharacterStyle = myStyle;

}