18 Replies Latest reply on Oct 2, 2012 9:49 PM by Rallymax-forum

Upgrading MacPro and nVIDIA CUDA cards.

Stephen Barrante Level 1

I'm sure that I am not the only one who was taken back by the underwhelming MacPro "upgrade" yesterday. I have been holding out well over a year for an updated to my current MacPro 1,1, and I'm not sure I can wait much longer...

So, I'm trying to figure out the best solution that will hold me over. I am a Premiere Pro and After Effects power user, and have been excited about the CUDA capabilities and the amazing performance boost it will give. I figured when I upgraded, I would make sure I have a card in the machine that supports that.

I recently visited both "tech-spec" pages for Premiere and After Effects and they still list the same 4 nVidia GPUs supported on the mac. In fact, it looks like when AE and PP CS6 were released, they just changed the header. This hasn't changed in a long while.

1. GeForce GTX 285
      2. Quadro CX
      3. Quadro FX 4800
      4. Quadro 4000

So here lies the frustration.

If I run out and get either a refurb of the 2010 MacPros, or one of the "new" MacPro towers running the ATI cards, I will still have to go out and replaced the video cards with one of the listed above. To make matters worse, the one reasonably priced card (GTX 285) is almost impossible to find. Not the least of which, it's already several years old.

I'm looking for any suggestions people might have, or workarounds, solutions...etc. I've considered picking up one of new Quad-Core's and using the price difference to kick up the video card. I guess I can sell the OEM one on eBay.

Unless someone can convince me that an i7 MacBookPro, and it's new nVideo card will do what I want to do, I'm not sure what other choices I have.

At this point anything will be a ridiculous upgrade from what I currently have. But for someone who wants to get a few years out of this investment, I'd hate to start off at a disadvantage.