3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2012 7:36 AM by Glenn Broadway

Will I be able to achieve this with scripting?

Glenn Broadway

Here's my current workflow:

I have a single master PSD file for an icon set. It has over 100 icons within it, each drawn as (sometimes multiple) vector layers withing a layer group. These icons need to be resized and styled for a number of different target platforms (mobile operating systems). Here's what I do.

1. Resize the master image (I do this rather than using the export size inside Layer Saver as it gives cleaner resuts - my vectors are all drawn on a 64 pixel grid).

1.a. Optionally run an action which adjusts the canvas size (I need this for some platforms which have odd sized icons).

2. Run the LayerSaver script to export each icon as a PNG (black on transparent) into a named sub-folder.

2.a. Optionally copy a folder full of exported icons into a another folder ready for 2.b (or I could re-export again using Layer Saver).

2.b. Optionally apply a style to all the icons in the folder previously created (I use Batch Process and an Action for this - I can't use the action within Layer Saveras it needs to apply the style to the final PNG).

The things is I'm up to about 12 different sets of icons now and it takes ages to save them all out. I suppose my ideal situation would be to have a script which includes the export of each icon type, into a designated sub-folder within a target folder. Then I could launch the script to get a control panel that has checkboxes for all the various targets and I could just hit go, safe in the knowledge that every icon will be saved for every platform.

I'm not even sure who created the Layer Saver script, although it was referenced in this thread http://forums.adobe.com/message/4164611 and Paul Riggott seem like he might be an authority.

Is this something I could achieve. I'm completely new to scripting, but I work in an office full of coders so hope that one of them could help me out.