12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2012 12:48 PM by EvyatarBH

Problem with TextArea and XML

lriera

Hello,

I am new to Flex. I am sorry if my question sounds obvious, but for me is a great trouble.

I am using this code to extract a picture and a video from a XML file:

<mx:Image id="pantalla" includeIn="Home" x="389" y="108" width="491" height="342" source="{list.selectedItem.@image}"/>

<s:SWFLoader includeIn="Leccion" x="-1" y="1" source="{list.selectedItem.@video}"/>

But when I try to do the same with a text file with this code:

<s:TextArea includeIn="Home" x="389" y="536" width="491" height="154" text="{list.selectedItem.@intro}"/>

I only get the file name, not the file content.

This is the XML file I am calling:

<lecciones>

<apartado nombre="Leccion 001" video="videos/Leccion001.swf" intro="intros/001.txt" image="images/001.jpg"/>

<apartado nombre="Leccion 002" video="videos/Leccion002.swf" intro="intros/002.txt" image="images/002.jpg"/>

<apartado nombre="Leccion 003" video="videos/Leccion003.swf" intro="intros/003.txt" image="images/003.jpg"/>

<apartado nombre="Leccion 004" video="videos/Leccion004.swf" intro="intros/004.txt" image="images/004.jpg"/>

</lecciones>

I want access to the content of the text file 001.txt, not the name of the file as I do with the 001.jpg and the Leccion001.swf files.

Can anyone help me, please.

Thank you

• 1. Re: Problem with TextArea and XML
          drkstr_1 Level 4

You need to load the contents of the file manually. Add a change handler to your list, then load the file contents using a URLLoader. Once the loader is finished loading the data, you can assign the loaded data to the TextArea.

It should look something like this:

[Bindable]

private var _text:String;

private list_changeHandler(event:IndexChangeEvent /* I think */)

{

var loader:URLLoader = new URLLoader(new URLRequest(list.selectedItem.@intro));

loader.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, completeHandler);

loader.load();

}