10 Replies Latest reply on Jul 11, 2012 3:55 AM by Pierre Devereux

Turning actor to stone (Is it possible)

EvangelineWinter Level 1

I am trying to figure out if its possible to turn an actor to stone?

I am very new to after effects so I am not gifted as many long time users but I am willing to learn.

Are there any tutorials or plugins that can be bought (I don't mind paying if it gets the job done)

Thank you for your help in this matter

• 1. Re: Turning actor to stone (Is it possible)
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you have the skills to turn a person to stone in Photoshop I'd suggest you start there. Take the frame or frames you want to use for the transition, bring them into Photoshop and do the transition with overlay or paint tools. Then simply edit the transition.

A little more detail about exactly what you want to achieve would be helpful. You can make this transition as simple as a freeze frame then dissolve or as complicated as slowly transitioning flesh to stone.

• 2. Re: Turning actor to stone (Is it possible)
            Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

As Rick said, this will depend a lot on the look you have in mind. From freezing and colorizing a frame to elaborate 3D animation (obviously not in AE) anything is thinkable, including all the possible shades inbetween, like a freeze fancied up with some particles or having shards fly in by ways of a time-reversed Shatter effect and whatnot. If you have a reference image/ video clip, it would be best to provide it.

Mylenium

• 3. Re: Turning actor to stone (Is it possible)
              EvangelineWinter Level 1