8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2012 7:27 AM by Jim Curtis

Rendering Files - File size help!

hauxen

Hi there,

I'm an IT Technician at a school where some of the students have started to use Adobe Premier Pro CS 5. When creating their videos it's creating multiple rendered .avi files e.g. Rendered - ccc2a75b-7d23-4392-a2cb-535c465282b6.avi

The files are around 50-100mb and as you can imagine, when a class of 30 is doing the above it's taking up some hefty space! Is there some way we can reduce this or perhaps remove the rendering of files?

Thanks

• 1. Re: Rendering Files - File size help!
          Harm Millaard Level 7

Tell them not to render their timelines (they will not be happy) or get more storage.

• 2. Re: Rendering Files - File size help!
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Rendering is to provide the smoothest playback. Sometimes, it is required to clearly see aspects, such as Keyframed Effects, but often is not really needed. This ARTICLE goes into more detail.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 3. Re: Rendering Files - File size help!
              Shadreck Rukweza Level 2

Another option for this is to use external harddrive which students can borrow when they want to do their video projects. It is the best way  because at the end of each term you will format the harddrive and ensure that everything has been deleted. I think external hard drive offers better playback perfomance than the network drive, thats why students have to render to get real time playback. My University used this method because we had lots of dropped frames on iMacs using FCP and Premiere Pro CS3 with DV footage. In the end they had lots of external usb and firewire 400/800 to use as scratch disk and everything was super. Even when using the editing suites with Mac Pros, you simply have to use an external HDD to enjoy realtime playback.

• 4. Re: Rendering Files - File size help!
                Harm Millaard Level 7