13 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2012 8:18 PM by tbarnesfilms2012

What is the BEST WAY TO ARCHIVE OLD PROJECTS and related media?

tbarnesfilms2012

Hi,

I've been running a Wedding Film-making business for the last 12 months full-time. In that time I've acquired about 4TB of Hard Drive space, but as I get more work coming in the door I'm starting to need to get rid of old Weddings and Corporates I've shot.

In the past - ie. at my old employers - I've archived the tapes in a storage room, and deleted all the captured footage. Then I'd burn the project file to a DVD or BLU-RAY depending on the job.

Now that everything is Digital, is there a good way to archive the footage without buying a million TB's of Hard Drive space (then considering keeping multiple copies for safety)???

I'm not concerned about needing to return to make changes to the projects at a later stage - these Weddings are locked and will never be changed.

Any help, suggestions, or an example of what you do would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Thomas

• 1. Re: What is the BEST WAY TO ARCHIVE OLD PROJECTS and related media?
          ExactImage Level 3

We backup / archive weddings to LTO4 tapes.   HDDs are totally unsuitable for archiving and Optical Media does not have a high enough capacity (or reliability) - even 50GB Blu-ray - for archiving.   Our typical wedding archive is between 200GB and 700GB depending on whether we are having to transcode the AVCHD (CS6 bug!). 

• 2. Re: What is the BEST WAY TO ARCHIVE OLD PROJECTS and related media?
            Jim Curtis Level 3

+1 to LTO and the above post.  It's really the only viable option for large backup/archives.  I was hoping that HVD would be around by now, but it's been mostly MIA in the marketplace.

LTO5 is out now, and has the advantage of LTFS.  But, I have no experience with that.  I use LTO4 also, and it's working reliably.