4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 29, 2012 11:29 PM by pheng@applevideo.us

Encoding, final production, archiving use case question ...

joneisele Level 1

Long one here, but should be a quick read.    I had a few questions on encoding and final production so to speak.   In case it matters, I'm new to PP CS6, but had edited video prior for over a decade with VideoStudio, a consumer product.   I realize the answer is always "it depends", so I will describe my situation and it would be great to hear what a few of you far more experienced than me would do here on the forum or via a private message.

Background

My video interests at present are somewhat Hollywood-like in a crude sense.   For example, I have a Sony HDRCX560V camcorder where I will record lots of family video.  (I also have a flip camera, my wife's iPhone, 5D, etc. video, but these are not the mainstay recording devices at present.)  Two or three times a year I will take all the raw footage and edit it down to a final "home movie" production.    Once I'm satisfied with the result, it becomes the final version archived forever much like a movie release.  I have yet to go back and want to re-edit an extended version or director's cut.   In fact before I moved to an HD camera I have deleted the source video captured from miniDV on my hard drive to free up storage.   Similarly, I recently purchased a Countour+ helmet camera unit.  I just took 3+ hours of video from a ride and ended up with an 8-minute movie production that I have no intent to edit any further.   

In case it matters both cameras use some sort of H.264 MPEG-4 compressed format.   At present I am shooting 1280x720 59.94 fps on the Countour+, but I may switch to 1080/30.   The Sony is set to 1920x1080, 29.97, although again I may choose something else in the future.   I am still learning to speak video codecs and formats, so let me know if you need more information.

Needs