24 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2012 6:39 AM by SAFEHARBOR11

Final Export Settings

chriscool_888 Level 1

Hi there I am new to the video world I am wrapping up my first project and wanted to know the best way of exporting the final output. I've read about making a master copy. What are the best settings? I've used h264 a few and have had issues with playback and sound cutting out. I need this video to play smooth. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: Final Export Settings
          SAFEHARBOR11 Most Valuable Participant

Hi Chris,

You could pose this question to 100 different editors and get 100 different answers. Of course, we'll need more info from you to make good suggestions. What is the source footage, for instance 1080p30 XDCAM EX? Next, what is the intended audience, method of delivery? Or do you simply want a "Master Quality" copy for now to archive the finished product?

H.264 is great for delivery because of good quality with small file sizes, but is not suggested for mastering or archiving due to the amount of compression applied to the video. If you are having trouble playing back the video smoothly, that could be dependent on your computer hardware. The H.264 codec is very complex and is therefore very processor-intensive for smooth playback. An older computer may not have the horsepower to play back an HD file without hiccups.

We don't know if you are on Mac or PC either, it all makes a difference. On the Mac, the ProRes codec is "lossless" and makes a great archive/master file copy. On the PC, The AVID DNxHD codec is free and high quality, or Lagarith avi codec can be used.

Please tell us your workflow details and then more focused suggestions will follow

Thank you

Jeff Pulera

Safe Harbor Computers

• 2. Re: Final Export Settings
            josephs51576386 Level 3