4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2012 7:23 AM by torontoseo

AE crashes when I change compositions in a project

torontoseo

Hi, I’m having a problem in CS6 – I downloaded a template graphic and every time I open the project, it crashes when I try to change to another tab of the composition to view it. It is only this project that crashes, I have downloaded other templates from the same site with no problems. I've uninstalled and reinstalled AE, I've deleted the project and redownloaded it multiple times, and nothing seems to fix the problem. I contacted the uploader and they say that no one else has had this problem and that they're not sure what the problem could be since they created the project in cs5.

I am quite new to AE so any suggestions are met with open arms. Thanks in advance!

Some relevant info - Windows 7 64 bit, NVDIA GeForce GTX 460 ver 8.17.13, Intel i7 processor 3.4 ghz

• 1. Re: AE crashes when I change compositions in a project
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

We don't have anywhere near enough information to make a diagnosis. 

Answering the questions found here will fix that.

• 2. Re: AE crashes when I change compositions in a project
            torontoseo Level 1

Sorry, let me try again:

1. I installed AE yesterday so i guess the latest version?

2. I'm assuming Adobe Application Manager would've installed the latest updates with the installation

3. Windows 7 ver 6.1 build 7601 service pack 1

4. I have no clue what the source footage is, i bought the project from videohive.net but its all graphics, nothing was shot with a camera.

5. I wish i was getting an error message, at least i would know what was going on. I get a message from windows that the program has stopped working and then I only have the option to close the program from that dialogue box.

6. It crashes when I try to click anything in the timeline, i.e clicking on a different composition tab, closing a composition tab, etc