2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2012 12:07 AM by Bob Dix Photographer

5D play back issues in Prem Pro CS5.5

Screenarena

I'm a Canon 5D2 newbie. I'm putting .mov footage from the camera into the PPro 5.5 time line and it simply doesn't play back very smoothly. I'm very surprised because I've just up-graded my PC suite to block buster level with i7 3.5 4 core processor, GeForce GTX 570 NVIDiA card, Petrol 128 GB SSD, 32GB of DDR 1333Mhz RAM.

Of course I shoot HD 1920 x 1080 PAL and have tried various project setting from the HDV choices to the DSLR options. It doesn't make any difference, Its as though it's being played back at a slightly lower frame rate, or as though I had posterized it to give it a slightly "Silent Movie" look. You'd notice it particularly on any action going across the frame left to right or vice versa. Yet my footage is matched perfectly to the project settings. It just doesn't make sense.

By the way, I do know D5 footage works OK once rendered because we used a 5D as a "B" Camera on a recent drama shoot which I edited on this same PPro 5.5 system, but why doesn't it play smoothly in the time line?

I want it to play back "like butter" in PPro 5.5 like everyone else. I wonder if anybody else has experienced the same problem or has a solution?

Any advice?

• 1. Re: 5D play back issues in Prem Pro CS5.5
          Harm Millaard Level 7

MAC or PC? From the video card I assume PC.

Why use a HDV preset when your material is AVCHD? If you don't know what you shot, just import your source material, right click on a clip in the project Panel and select New Sequence from Clip.

• 2. Re: 5D play back issues in Prem Pro CS5.5
            Bob Dix Photographer Level 2

Hi Screenarena,