3 Replies Latest reply on Jul 4, 2012 5:29 PM by [Jongware]

How to create an ebook using InDesign?

Sylviee223 Level 1

I know how to lay out a book, I've done it before. But I feel like there maybe something special for ebooks. What size is needed? Do I put facing pages or single pages? It seems like single works, but with the ipad I have seen facing pages that people "flip" through. Does the text somehow flow differently through pages depending on your tablet and zoom level? I asked questions on another forum and someone answered with "not splitting text into explicit pages as e-readers are all different and people may have different zoom factors" ...how does one do that?

OR, is it as simple as creating a layout in InDesign and exporting a PDF? Because I can do that!

Background info: I found a job posting on a student website (I'm a student) to lay out an ebook for someone. Can I just create them an amazing pdf? Or am I in way over my head?

***EDIT: So I have just sorta found out what ePub means. According to wikipedia:

"EPUB is designed for reflowable content, meaning that the text display can be optimized for the particular display device used by the reader of the EPUB-formatted book, although EPUB now also supports fixed-layout content."

Which I think is my whole issue. So, if I create a layout and export it as an ePub, does it then become a proper ebook that fits peoples displays? Do I make a pdf then turn it into an ePub? I'm guessing my Indesign & Adobe come with an "ePub" button?

ANY info would be helpful. Thanks.

• 1. Re: How to create an ebook using InDesign?
          BobLevine MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Let’s back up here.

There are a ton of definitions for ebook. What did you have in mind for this one?

Kindle? PDF? DPS type of app?

That will give us a bit more to go on if you need help.

Bob

• 2. Re: How to create an ebook using InDesign?
            Sylviee223 Level 1

Hi Bob,