5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2012 1:47 PM by monkeytheboy

How to cut in between frames?

monkeytheboy

I'm completely new to Premiere Elements. I saw the capabilities of it on the internet and just had to purchase this software so I was pretty excited when my package came in the mail.

My issue has to do with timing. I want to create music videos with mp3 files. I have software that analyzes the music and tells me how many beats per minute the audio files play at. The file I am currently working on plays at 128bpm which is approximately a video cut at about a timing divisible by .47 seconds. However, I'm not sure where (or how) to make premiere elements cut a video at exactly .47 seconds since the cut marker goes by frame, not necessarily timing.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

• 1. Re: How to cut in between frames?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

With Video, the lowest element is the Frame. There can be no half, third, or similar Frames - ONE Frame only.

If you need to adjust things, at a finer level, than 1/24th, 1/25th or 1/30th of a second, depending on the Frame Rate, the only choices are to adjust the Audio, by a lower percentage, or higher percentage.

Now, PrPro allows one to work in Audio Units, so one could work with the Audio at 1/48,000th of a sec., but for the Video, would still be locked into a single Frame.

Good luck,

Hunt

• 2. Re: How to cut in between frames?
            monkeytheboy Level 1

That's unfortunate to learn. I figured that since Windows Live Movie maker was able to split video at finite time points, that this program would be able to it without a hitch as well.

I had read somewhere on the internet that one can possible create a still frame and, since this would be a still image in the video, it could probably be cut finitely. Something about creating a still image from the last frame on video1 and the first frame on video 2.