8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 7, 2012 7:35 PM by the_wine_snob

Questions about 1080p60 .m2ts

whsprague Level 4

I’ve been lurking here for a while, but don’t think I’ve posted anything.  I’m new to video and been studying how to make PE10 work on lynda.com.

I have a Sony HX9V and Panasonic SDT750 cameras that take AVCHD footage, including an option for 1080p60. I am using Premier Elements 10 on a Toshiba Satellite laptop with an i5 processor and 8GB of ram.  There is not a video card and only one slow HDD.

I’ve scanned and read here that 1080p60 is not supported by Adobe in PE10 and it seems troublesome for many.   Yet for me, it seems to works fine.  I use one of the 1080i30 or 1080p30 project presets. Using “Get Media”, and selecting a known 1080p60 file, then checking the thumbnail with a right click and “Properties” confirms it is in fact 1080p60 and an .m2ts file. 

When “Sharing” (rendering) I select Share>Computer>Presets>select MP4 H264 1080p30>Advanced>Frame Rate and both 59.94 and 60 are offered.  The output file is not a .m2ts but is an .mp4.  If done on a single clip, the new file is a little larger than the original and I think that is because of the default rendering bitrate is a little higher than the original.  Both files play fine and are indistinguishable to my eye on a 55” TV using a media player.

First, am I correct that the project presets only control the rendering for work in progress and that the final render reads the source file directly and then encodes to the selected output?  Or, does the project preset effect how the final render works?

Second, If 1080p60 .m2ts is not supported why does it seem to work so well?  What am I missing?  Or, what should I be sharing with others that want to edit 1080p60 .m2ts file.

Thanks.

Bill

• 1. Re: Questions about 1080p60 .m2ts
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Bill,